Our Board Members


Julia Turner - Chairperson

Julia is the Marketing and Communications Director at Edith Cowan University (ECU). In this role, Julia has responsibility for ECU’s brand development and management, the development and implementation of the Marketing and Recruitment plans, corporate communications, corporate events, student recruitment (domestic and international) and the website management. Julia has been with ECU since 1994. Prior to that, Julia held various management roles in the marketing department of Telstra in WA over a 9 year period.

Julia holds a Bachelor of Psychology from UWA and a Master of Business in Marketing from ECU.


David Sherwood - Vice-chairperson, co-founder

Dave is the co-founder of London based VC funded company Bibliotech - the Spotify for Textbooks. As the 2013 Western Australian Rhodes Scholar, Dave studied PPE (Philosophy, Politics & Economics) at Oxford University after his BSc (Chemistry & Physics) at the University of Western Australia. Dave’s rural schooling experience at Bunbury Senior High School inspired him to co-found TLG to enable rural and Indigenous students to reach their full potential.



James Panarettos - Treasurer

After previous roles as Chief Financial Officer and General Manager at TLG, James was elected to the board in 2015. Over his past three years at the organisation, James has overseen significant strategic and operational change, including extending the reach of the Rural Program to disadvantaged students in the Pilbara. He is inspired by the impact that youth can have in bridging education inequality and solving prevalent social issues. James brings with him a wealth of finance industry experience from previous roles at BHP Billiton (Singapore) and PwC (Perth). His social impact interests have spurred his research in Development Economics (poverty alleviation) at Peking University HSBC Business School in China. James is the only UWA student to have received the prestigious New Colombo Plan Fellowship, under which he was granted a full scholarship by the Australian Government to study at the National University of Singapore. As a New Colombo Plan Fellow, James represents Australia on the international stage as an ambassador to Singapore and China.


Timothy Russell - Board member


Tim is currently acting as the Dean of Student Wellbeing at All Saints’ College. In his substantive role of Head of Service Learning at the College he was responsible for building fully embedded Service Learning program for students from Pre-Primary through Year 12, while also providing service opportunities for staff, parents and alumni. Through this program the College is seeking to nurture the growth of an informed and aware community whose sights are set beyond their own immediate needs and wants, and who are equipped to respond to others with compassion and empathy. In this role he worked with TLG to set up the first TLG program run by senior secondary school students, extending the reach of the rural program into the Kimberley.


Scott Meacock - Board member

Scott is an Associate at international law firm Squire Patton Boggs (AU), specialising in corporate and commercial litigation and has acted for clients in a variety of industry sectors, including energy and resources, commercial property, financial services and intellectual property and technology

Scott has experience volunteering n activities seeking to promote engagement by primary and secondary schools students in their own education and, with a young family, he is keenly aware of the importance of educational opportunities for all children.

Scott holds a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Western Australia.


Shane Devitt - Board member

Shane is a Koori man with over 24 years experience providing Governance, Internal Audit, Controls Optimisation and Risk Management services. He has provided these services to a diverse range of public and private sector clients across Australia, USA and New Zealand. Shane has a long history with PwC and continues to work on a part-time basis as a Principal in PwC’s Assurance Team in Western Australia.

Shane is a Chartered Accountant and a Certified information Systems Auditor.


Annie Fogarty - Board member


Annie, with her husband Brett, established The Fogarty Foundation in 2000 and has been the Executive Chairperson since inception. Having graduated with an Arts degree from UWA, Annie previously worked in marketing and public relations in the tourism and arts sectors. Annie has experience in public and private stakeholder engagement and liaison, project management and development of effective partnership relationships. In 2008, Annie and Brett were awarded Honorary Doctorate Degrees in Letters from UWA. In 2013, Annie was made a Member of the General Division of the Order of Australia for ‘significant service to equity, access and advancement of education in Western Australia’. In 2014, Annie was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Education by ECU. Annie is an Ambassador for Children and Young People in WA. In 2015 Annie was acknowledged by ACEL (WA) as Pre-Eminent Educator.